Love ItLove It

Rila Lakes – a piece of paradise

Rila Lakes is a group of lakes with glacial origin located in the Rila Mountains. This is the most visited tourist group in Bulgaria and is one of the 100 national tourist sites. The lakes are located in the Lagoon part of the Northwestern Rila Mountain and are situated between 2095 and 2535 m above sea level. They occupy dents along the slope of the mountain, with the individual lakes being connected by small streams. As the water passes along these streams, small waterfalls and waterfalls are formed. The first three lakes – the Tear, the Eye and the Kidney – are drained each separately in the Twins, from which the water passes through the Triplets, the Fish and the Lower Lake. In the last two lakes, there is an already more powerful stream, which flows from the lowest lake to the beginning of the Djurman River (the left tributary of Struma).

The name of each of the seven Rila lakes reflects a peculiarity of the lake. The lake, which is located at the highest altitude, is named Tears because of the transparency of the waters. Next in height is the Eye (also called the Heart), which is approximately oval in shape. The eye is the deepest circular lake in Bulgaria – its depth is 37.5 m. The kidney is the lake with the steepest shores of the entire group. The fourth lake is Bliznaka; It is the largest area of the seven. Lake Trilistnika has an irregular shape and low shores. The shallowest lake is shallow; On the northeastern side of the hill is the Seven Lakes Chalet. Lowest is the Lower Lake, from which the Djerman River originates.


What do you think?

24 Points

Written by Olga N

Years Of Membership


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply