Love ItLove It


There are three basic species of chipmunk:  eastern, Siberian and least (western species-within this species are many subspecies).  In the early to mid 1800s a chipmunk was called a chipmonk, chip squirrel, chipminck, chipping squirrel, chipmuck and more.

Chipmunks range from 2-6 inches long plus 3 inches for the tail and weigh less than a pound.  They live approximately 3 years in the wild and sleep an average of 15 hours per day.

Chipmunks are omnivorous and will eat seeds, nuts and other fruits, birds, grass shoots, fungi, insects, small frogs, worms and bird eggs.  Around humans they will eat cultivated grains and vegetables and will become pests.  They usually forage on the ground, but will climb trees to gather nuts.  They have expansive cheeks for holding large quantities of food.

The eastern chipmunk hibernates and will stockpile nuts and seeds in its burrow for winter.

Photo Credit:  Pixabay

  • Do you have chipmunks where you live?

    • Yes
    • No


What do you think?

19 points

Written by LindaOH

Content AuthorYears Of Membership


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply