The colors of Santa Maria

Santa Maria, in the Azores, is composed of five parishes:

Vila do Porto, São Pedro, Almagreira, Santo Espírito, Santa Bárbara.

Each parish is associated with a color. In Vila do Porto the color is gray. In São Pedro the Yellow, in Almagreira the red, in Santo Espírito the green and in Santa Bárbara, the Blue. It is a small cultural aspect associated with popular culture. The houses are painted in white with the tones of each parish. The tradition is no longer the same but many people continue to glorify their ancestors.

The island of Santa Maria belongs to an archipelago of 9 islands called Azores. I’m sure they would love to get to know these little great paradises.


What do you think?


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply