In Florida, you are considered driving under the influence if your blood alcohol level is 0.08 or higher. Nearly everyone says that drinking and driving is bad. So, why do so many people people do it? And so many of those people are even caught and arrested. The numbers don’t lie. Tens of thousands of people are arrested for DUI every year.
It’s harder than you may think to know if you are “sober enough” to drive. There’s no simple formula to calculate how many drinks it will take for a person to get to a blood count on 0.08, since there are so many factors that can influence how an individual can hold their alcohol: like gender, weight, fat and muscle ratios, how fast the metabolism is, rate of consumption of drinks, whether a person consumed food along with the drinks, or whether the person is on any type of medication. It’s not as simple as one drink equals a certain amount of alcohol in the blood.
If you get pulled over and you are considered to be driving under the influence of alcohol, you will have a lot of consequences. You’ll face higher insurance premiums, a suspended driver’s license, traffic school, court ordered counseling, and monetary fines. If you are particularly drunk or this isn’t your first time being arrested for this offense, you could end up with a long list of legal problems and face imprisonment. Regardless of whether you blew a 0.08 or something much higher, you’ll want to call a loved one and have them go to a place that offers affordable bail bonds in Fort Lauderdale as soon as possible.
One thing that will affect your bail, as well as the potential consequences down the road, is whether your DUI is charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. Misdemeanors are considered by the law to be less serious offenses. Some examples of misdemeanors include: simple battery, shoplifting, driving with a suspended license, or stealing something worth less than $300. Felonies are more serious offenses. Examples of common felonies include murder, manslaughter, arson, rape, and robberies. Yes, a DUI is in some cases a felony offense.
Here in Florida, it is important to know the following:
A driver convicted of a DUI for the first time will be fined between $500 and $1,000 and could face up to 6 months in jail. A second DUI will consist of a fine between $1,000 and $2,000 and face up to 9 months in jail. The individual will also have to pay for an ignition interlock device to be placed on their vehicle. The person would also face restrictions on his or her driver’s license. A driver convicted of a DUI for the third time within 10 years of their previous convictions will be charged with a felony. The individual will face a fine between $2,000 and $5,000 and up to a year in jail. The person will for sure have to pay for the installment of an ignition interlock on their vehicle. If a driver is convicted of a DUI for the fourth time, regardless of how much time has passed between convictions, the person commits a felony. If in addition to driving under the influence, a driver causes serious bodily injury to another person, that driver will be charged with a felony. If the accident results in the death of another person or the impaired driver fails to give aid to someone who is hurt, the driver commits DUI manslaughter, which is a felony.
This doesn’t have to be the end of your life as you know it, although a DUI arrest is often a catalyst for entering into a rehab facility or taking a hard look at your sobriety. The main thing is to get affordable bail bonds in Fort Lauderdale so you can be released from jail and reevaluate your life.