Quiz Love ItLove It

Learning About the U.S. State of Missouri

Missouri is a state that borders eight different U.S. states. They are Iowa to the north, Illinois to the east across the Mississippi River, Kentucky to the southeast, Tennessee and Arkansas to the south, Oklahoma and Kansas to the west and Nebraska to the northwest across the Missouri River. The state residents are known to have a reputation for believing only what they can see . The name of the state is an Algonquin Indian term meaning “river of the big canoes.” Originally home to a number of Indian tribes, Missouri entered the Union in 1821 and became the 24th state.  Today, more than half the population lives in Missouri’s two major cities–Kansas City and St. Louis. Missouri even has a state fish symbol.

  • Does Missouri mean “the river of the big canoes”?

    • Yes
    • No
  • Does half of the state’s population live in Kansas City and St. Louis?

    • Yes
    • No
  • Is the state bordered by 8 different U.S. states?

    • Yes
    • No
  • What is the nickname of the state?

    • Canoe State
    • Big River State
    • The Show Me State
  • What is the capital?

    • Jefferson City
    • Springfield
    • Kansas City
  • What is the state song?

    • My Missouri
    • Home to Missouri
    • Missouri Waltz
  • What is the state flower?

    • Magnolia
    • White hawthorn blossom
    • Apple blossom
  • What is the state bird?

    • Woodpecker
    • Eastern bluebird
    • Robin
  • What is the state tree?

    • Oak
    • Birch
    • Dogwood
  • What is the state animal?

    • Missouri mule
    • Horse
    • Deer
  • What is the state fish?

    • Channel catfish
    • Perch
    • Trout

What do you think?

19 points


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply